jump to navigation

Google Scholar, 1; LexisOne, 0 March 31, 2010

Posted by Brian Schar in Federal Circuit.
trackback

Years ago Lexis One was a reliable site for obtaining paginated Federal Circuit opinions free of charge  – as long as you didn’t mind that being limited to cases only a few years old.  For an in-house attorney at a small company with no budget for caselaw search, it was a godsend.

Just now, I spent about 20 minutes trying to log on to Lexis One; it let me log on to the splash screen, then asked me to log on again when I wanted to look at a particular case.  The first logon wouldn’t work with the second request; I’d never had that happen before.  While I was on hold with the well-intentioned but clueless tech support staff; I found the paginated case with Google Scholar, and while the tech was telling me why he couldn’t help me (because, heavens, I use IE, only the most common browser on Earth), I printed the case.   Bye bye, Lexis One.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

