jump to navigation

The bureaucratic whirlpool September 6, 2011

Posted by Brian Schar in USPTO.
trackback

I am having a problem with certain fees being properly withdrawn from my deposit account, so I called the USPTO finance division, and hit “1” for maintenance fees.  The woman who answered the phone listened to my problem, told me she couldn’t handle that, and promptly transferred me to the deposit account number.  The woman who picked up the phone listened to my problem, told me she couldn’t handle that, and told me I had to talk to the maintenance fee people again.  If I had infinite time I might have let her transfer me back so I could count how many times I’d go through the loop.  It reminds me of my high school days programming BASIC:

10 PRINT “I Can’t Help You”

20 GOTO 10

30 END

(As I recall, perhaps incorrectly, you always had to have an “end” statement in BASIC even if your program could never actually get there.)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

